Diving into the Sky: Professional Development through Twitter Chats

Photo: William Andrus, CC BY 2.0
Photo: William Andrus, CC BY 2.0

For months, I’ve been a light user of Twitter. I set up announcement tweets for my blog posts in advance, but beyond that, I only check in on the site itself maybe once per week. I’ve always found the Twitter experience to be rather… scattered. And cluttered. Compared to the line-by-line anarchy of Twitter, I much prefer the comfortable experience provided by longer-form texts paired with a nested conversation system– the way most newspapers and blogs are set up.

However, I’m making a resolution: through the month of August, I’m going to participate in at least five live chat sessions related to my interests. I’ve already identified three candidates:

  • #edchat: The classic. It happens every Tuesday at 8 PM Eastern / 5 PM Pacific.
  • #edtechchat: A chat for topics in Educational Technology every Monday at 8 PM Eastern / 5 PM Pacific.
  • #ellchat: A chat for topics related to English Language Learners (ELLs) every Monday at 9 PM Eastern / 6 PM Pacific.

I also plan to look into Twitter clients so that I can set up a dedicated window for each chat.

Steven Anderson has a very informative post about Twitter chats in Education. I also found a list of public Google Calendars listing Twitter chats related to education.

Do you participate in any Twitter chats? If so, what have you gotten out of it? And if not, check out that calendar linked above– you might find something relevant to you!

One thought on “Diving into the Sky: Professional Development through Twitter Chats

Leave a Reply